Skip to Main Content
Cora J. Belden Library
Phone: 860-258-7621 (Main)     Mon - Wed: 9:30 - 8:00
Phone: 860-258-7623 (Info)     Thurs - Fri: 9:30 - 5:00
E-mail: cora@rockyhillct.gov     Saturday: 9:30 - 1:00
Search Catalog:  

Cora J. Belden Library - Research

Ancestry Library Edition delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more. Answers await everyone—whether professional or hobbyist, expert or novice, genealogist or historian—inside the more than 7,000 available databases. Here, you can unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.


Get current and previous issues of Consumer Reports magazine in an easily searchable digital format. Consumer Reports is American nonprofit consumer organization dedicated to independent product testing, investigative journalism, consumer-oriented research, public education, and consumer advocacy. 


Cypress Resume is a service that helps you create a professional resume, cover letter, or reference sheet. Cypress Resume uses an easy process, broken down into simple steps, with a Document Manager that makes it easy to view, download, edit, or delete any saved documents. So, no more excuses, use Cypress Resume to land that interview!


Use EBSCO eBooks for all your academic projects! EBSCOhost is actually a collection of databases that focus on nonfiction titles and articles covering all topics, from Hitler to Harry Potter. This database collection features full e-book titles, as well as access to articles through other EBSCOhost databases like Academic Search Premier, Biography Reference Bank, and History Reference Center.


findIT CT is Connecticut's statewide library catalog. Use it to search hundreds of Connecticut libraries to find millions of books, videos, CDs and DVDs.


 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the eighteenth century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

The Cora J. Belden Library offers a digital database for archives of the Hartford Courant. Use the links below to access the Hartford Courant through the years.

Hartford Courant: 1992 - Present

Hartford Courant: 1764 - 1922


Brainfuse HelpNow offers a comprehensive suite of online academic services designed to support many learning needs and styles. It provides expert online services such as live, real-time professional tutoring, a foreign language lab, and a online writing lab that offers live writing assistance. In addition, it provides study tools such as a Test Center to help with standardized tests (SAT, ACT, GED and more) and practice subject specific tests, like math and science, as well as 24/7 access to an extensive library of online flashcard sets in hundreds of subjects. Finally, it provides an Adult Learning Center with comprehensive academic support from trained adult education specialists in areas such as US Citizenship testing, resume and cover letter assistance, and core skills building.


JobNow, powered by Brainfuse, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job. It includes services such as a Live Interview Coach service to help you prepare for your interview, a Resume Builder Lab that provides the resources you need to craft a winning resume, and informative, easy-to-use, and free Internet career resources for job seekers, including personality and career assessments.


Get detailed information on more than 1,100 occupations. Find careers that match your skills and interests. Access millions of current job and internship postings.  Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and more. Job & Career Accelerator is your guide to getting hired. What are you waiting for – get started now!


Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.


Morningstar is an investment research website with information on mutual funds, ETFs, market analysis, and portfolios. As a respected source of investment information, Morningstar empowers you with reliable market data, analysis, and education. Morningstar offers in-depth analyses of over 2,000 companies, funds, and ETFs. Investors can search for a specific company or fund using its ticker symbol, or use screeners to sort through thousands of stocks and funds. If you’re new to investing, Morningstar has resources to help you build your skills. With over 100 courses on stocks, funds, and portfolio building, you’ll find everything you need to know about investing.


NoveList is a resource that provides book recommendations based on appeal factors, curated lists, and read-alikes for titles you enjoy. Appeal factors are specific elements of a story that NoveList has created to help identify what you enjoyed about a title. NoveList also provides Recommended Reads Lists, which are collections of titles that have a similar theme. Every title in NoveList also has a “Read-alikes” section with similar titles for you to peruse.


researchIT CT is part of the Connecticut Education Network. It provides all students, faculty and residents with online access to essential library and information resources. It is administered by the Connecticut State Library in conjunction with your local library. Through researchIT CT, a core level of information resources including secured access to licensed databases is available to every citizen in Connecticut. In addition, specialized research information is available to college students and faculty.